Opinion - Business Insider
Business Insider logo The words "Business Insider".
Close icon Two crossed lines that form an 'X'. It indicates a way to close an interaction, or dismiss a notification.
Opinion 2020-06-23T18:00:00Z
donald trump

Trump's visa ban is terrible for America

The Trump administration pointed to the weak economy as a reason for the visa suspension, but that is a miserable excuse and makes no sense.
Opinion 2020-06-23T15:04:44Z
shake shack

Stop taking the police solely at their word

NYPD and union brass created a fake story about a Shake Shack "poisoning." It's time to treat cops like any other source, with reasonable skepticism.
Opinion 2020-06-22T18:05:00Z
trump rally tulsa

TikTok-gate is a bad sign for Trump

The candidate whose supporters are having more fun usually wins, and it seems like the anti-Trump vote is having a better time right now.

Just like Trump promised, the US is 'tired of winning.' The only problem is we're 'winning' in the worst ways.

President Trump promised us that under his leadership, we would get "tired of winning." Years later, we are winning, just in all the wrong categories.
Opinion 2020-06-21T13:37:00Z

The pandemic makes it clear: it's time to finally address the mental health crisis in America

The US was in the midst of a mental health crisis even before the pandemic. As we fight COVID-19, we also need to fight the mental health crisis.
Opinion 2020-06-21T12:26:00Z

If Republicans don't get their act together the economy's going to fall off a cliff

The US economy has been on life support since the coronavirus started, and Republicans want to pull the chord.
Opinion 2020-06-20T14:39:00Z

Here's how to make sure the economic recovery from the pandemic helps the people who need it most

The government, private businesses, and any group working on the COVID-19 recovery need to make sure that their programs create equitable outcomes.
Opinion 2020-06-20T13:26:00Z

To boost the US economy, the government should take a page from the Great Depression playbook and hire thousands of American artists

The first Works Projects Administration put artists back to work after the depression, and there's no better time than now for a new one.
Opinion 2020-06-20T12:38:00Z

A behind-the-scenes 'bully' in the State Department is the perfect example of the mess that is the Trump administration

Former IG Steven Linick laid out just how aggressive Pompeo ally Brian Bulato can be and showed what is wrong with the State Department.
Opinion 2020-06-19T12:17:00Z

The US economy is starting to bounce back but there are 3 dangers that could mess up all the gains

The US economy has made gains in recent weeks, but COVID-19, trade fights, and the upcoming fiscal cliffs still present dangers.
Opinion 2020-06-18T18:00:00Z

How far could stocks fall?

Stocks keep climbing despite the rising coronavirus cases in many states. But if things do take a turn, just how far could the market fall?

Democrats should embrace the 'defund the police' slogan

Democrats are trying to disavow the "defund the police" slogan while trying to win over the movements' supporters. This is a mistake.
Opinion 2020-06-17T23:24:21Z

We can all stop pretending Trump is tough on China now

According to John Bolton, Trump was willing to overlook just about anything from China as long as he got what he needed to get reelected.
Opinion 2020-06-17T18:00:00Z

A simple plan for mitigating (but not trying to stop) the pandemic

It's clear that the US screwed up the coronavirus response, but we can't go back to lockdown. Here's what we should do instead.
Opinion 2020-06-16T21:11:28Z

NYPD officers claiming they were 'poisoned' at a Shake Shack shows how broken policing is

Cops falsely assumed they were intentionally poisoned at a Shake Shack. But the jump to conclusions is a startling insight into the police mindset.
Opinion 2020-06-16T18:00:00Z

The US coronavirus response is a national disgrace

The number of COVID-19 cases and deaths is staggering and we seem to just be giving up on trying ton contain and squash the pandemic.
Opinion 2020-06-16T17:55:00Z

The George Floyd protests have become 5 different movements

While they are all interconnected, there are five main issues and arguments that have grown out of the protests about the killing of George Floyd.
Markets 2020-06-16T14:40:00Z

This is not a recession, but just a long government-dictated public holiday

The real test for the economy will be after it has re-opened fully.

You want radical police reform? Vote in local elections.

The president doesn't make police department policy, local governments do. If lawmakers fear being voted out of their "safe seats," they'll change.
Opinion 2020-06-15T18:00:00Z

The Supreme Court's LGBTQ ruling is marvelous, and not enough

Legal rulings did not solve discrimination against Black Americans, and legal rulings will not solve discrimination against LGBTQ Americans.
Opinion 2020-06-15T14:34:00Z

Millions of Americans could get left behind unless Congress passes a new economic stimulus package. Here's what should be in it.

We need to expand food stamps, help expand access to housing, and more in the next round of coronavirus economic stimulus.
Opinion 2020-06-15T13:56:00Z

Trump's embrace of the Confederate flag shows us all who he thinks owns America

Trump makes his assumptions about who is entitled to America based on race, not the rule of law. That's why the Confederate flag suits.

Republicans are going to bear the Trump stain for years to come

Trump is trailing in the 2020 polls and could lose. But voters shouldn't forget Senate Republicans and other GOP lawmakers who supported him.
Opinion 2020-06-14T13:37:00Z

Destruction swings at the system, but the punch lands on peaceful protests

The pain, anger, and desperation of the protesters is justifiable — but backlash always awaits the peaceful protesters the next day.

Trump doesn't really respect members of the military. He uses them as props.

Trump loves to bask in the reflected glory of veterans, but he has no use for them once they don't conveniently fit in with his preferred narrative.
Opinion 2020-06-13T14:51:00Z

The pandemic proves it: Trump's healthcare record is one of abject failure

President Donald Trump's history on healthcare is littered with broken promises and feeble cover-ups.
Opinion 2020-06-13T13:52:00Z

Massive nationwide protests are not the time to push your brand

In the aftermath of George Floyd's death, corporations have decided to grace us with supercilious pronouncements about racism.
Opinion 2020-06-13T13:11:00Z

Our pandemic response was a disaster. We can't afford to make the same mistakes with climate change

The lessons we have learned in the COVID-19 outbreak will pave the way as we confront a climate change crisis that is already causing a catastrophe.
Opinion 2020-06-13T12:28:00Z

Trump's disastrous response to the George Floyd protests is hurting America's image around the world

Racism in the United States has damaged America's image abroad for decades, but Trump is the first time where a president hasn't cared.
Opinion 2020-06-12T18:00:00Z

We need more experiments like Seattle's police-free zone

Seattle protesters created a six-block police-free zone called the Capitol Hill Autonomous Zone. We need to try wild ideas like this to reform our police.
Opinion 2020-06-12T13:31:53Z

Trump's worst insult to Americans is that he thinks we're like him

Trump shares his itarian, racist, violent thoughts expecting Americans to support him because he thinks deep down we're like him. Not a chance.
Strategy 2020-06-12T13:15:00Z

Slashing state budgets disproportionately impacts families of color — and could extend the recession

States that embraced cuts during the Great Recession of 2008 had much slower recoveries and fell behind their peers.
Opinion 2020-06-11T18:00:00Z

Stocks tank as pandemic fears return

21 states are still seeing an increase in daily new cases and the rate of infections show that the pandemic is not over by a long shot.
Opinion 2020-06-10T19:00:00Z

Times are changing

Public approval of the Black Lives Matter movement has improved historically fast and it shows just how incredible this moment is.
Strategy 2020-06-10T15:33:04Z
Opinion 2020-06-10T12:51:35Z

Bill de Blasio can finally do something great for New Yorkers: resign

De Blasio gave New Yorkers a two-week break from alternate-side-of-the-street parking. Here's a better idea: Give them a bigger break and resign.
Opinion 2020-06-09T18:10:00Z

Are Biden's poll numbers as strong as they look?

Joe Biden has some strong poll numbers, but there are a lot of issues that could trip him up before the presidential election.
Opinion 2020-06-09T13:57:34Z

Yes, we need to 'defund the police'

The history of American policing is rotten racist. We need to spend far less on police departments and far more on services that do social good.
Opinion 2020-06-08T18:10:00Z

Can we think of a better slogan than 'Defund the police'?

Redirecting funding for the police to other social services is a noble idea, but the slogan "defund the police" is simplistic and loses the point.
Opinion 2020-06-08T15:05:00Z

Not being racist isn't enough in America

The murder of George Floyd is a wakeup call: To end racism in America we need to actively practice anti-racism and build anti-racist institutions.
Opinion 2020-06-07T14:18:00Z

Trump is the worst possible president for this moment

It has become abundantly clear that Trump is the worst possible President for this moment, and it likely will end his presidency come November.
Opinion 2020-06-07T13:37:00Z

I'm a professor who studies protests and activism. Here's why the George Floyd protests are different.

The George Floyd protests are different for three reasons: pandemic lockdowns, the diversity of the protestors, and the violent government response.
Opinion 2020-06-06T16:15:00Z

Black lives mattered before George Floyd was killed — even if you're just now noticing

We've been saying that "black lives matter" ever since Trayvon Martin's death sparked the rise of the movement. Why did it take so long to catch on?
Opinion 2020-06-06T15:05:54Z

The shocking jobs report was good news, but it also proved the US economy is still a mess

The gain of over 2 million jobs was good news. But millions of Americans are still unemployed and the US economy still needs more stimulus.
Opinion 2020-06-05T18:35:00Z

America has become a nationwide body cam

We are able to record and see more of the violence coming from police due to the widespread availability of phones and recording equipment.
Opinion 2020-06-05T14:33:00Z

Science experts have a duty to tell protesters the cold hard truth about the coronavirus

Science experts are right to support the protests in spirit, but when offering expert guidance, they need to be heartless, just as the disease is.
Strategy 2020-06-05T13:15:00Z

White conservatives like Rush Limbaugh believe white privilege doesn't exist. But the coronavirus pandemic shows the painful divide between white and black Americans.

Coronavirus is not a racist disease — it doesn't discriminate against skin color or economic status. But the society in which we live is racist.
Opinion 2020-06-04T18:00:00Z

Mattis chooses America over Trump

General Mattis' letter frames the questions that many Americans will have to face: declare loyalty to either the United States of America...or Trump.
Opinion 2020-06-03T23:34:40Z

Right-wing media stars don't actually care how peaceful the protests are

It doesn't matter if it's taking a knee or marching peacefully in the streets, some conservative media personalities are just offended by the message.
Opinion 2020-06-03T19:32:00Z

A book published nearly 25 years ago predicted America would hit a great crisis climaxing in 2020 — and that up next is a millennial vs. boomer standoff that will usher in a new world order

In 1997, "The Fourth Turning" predicted a crisis-era starting around 2005 and climaxing around 2020. Enter: the pandemic and nationwide protests.
Loading Something is loading.
View more